Random Acts of Kindness – Baking

So my blog is officially one week old!I have really enjoyed setting the scene and telling about some of the things I intend to do.

Given that it is the weekend, I thought it was about time that I put my plans into action and started some mini projects.

For a while, I have been attracted to the concept of Random Acts of Kindness (RAKs). I like the idea that you can intentially set out to improve someones day and leave a positive impact linked to my earlier post on leaving a positive impact on all that I do.

It’s easy to moan about the erosion of society and how communities just don’t exist like the used to. And to an extent I agree with this. I started a new job this month, after 10 years in my previous company. I was struck by how friendly everyone was and not just those in my immediate team. People would start conversations in lifts and in queues for the (amazing!) canteen.

However, everyone being so friendly made me realise how this doesn’t happen in everyday life. So, in an attempt to address this balance and to start on my life makeover journey, I did the following this weekend;

  • Drop off another cake parcel to someone who is really active in setting up iniatives and projects to improve our town and community. I wanted to let her know that others appreciate her efforts. You can see some of her work here http://www.facebook.com/groups/Wearebedford/ ImageImage
  • Clean out our garage. Like many others, our stuff and clutter exapnds to fit the space we have. Both the husband and I can have a tendancy to hoard and think “this will come in handy one day”. I have ready many articles and blogs on the benefits of decluttering and so tackling this project will help me with the Clean Slate, Fresh Start element.  We are planning a charity shop run to dispose of a large number of items, so I think this qualifies as a Random Act of Kindness as well! I am also hoping that the decluttering process will help other aspects of the overhaul.

In case you were wondering,the cakes were chocolat cakes with a cream cheese icing. They were based on a recipe from the Hummingbird Baking Cookbook. That recipe calls for buttermilk, but I didn’t have any. So, in a ‘Make do and Mend’ spirit, I substituted Coconut Milk which worked really well and gave a lovely light cake.

What did you do this weekend? Did you start any new projects?

5 thoughts on “Random Acts of Kindness – Baking

  1. Thank you Liz, I really appreciated the cakes (they were gorgeous) and the gesture. It is so nice to be thought of. I’m inspired by your commitment to a ‘mindful’ approach to life.

  2. I made cupcakes from H/Bird too! A RAK for R, who was suffering from goodie deprivation. These were Hot Chocolate ones, from the 2nd book, 1st time of trying, and they were nice, not that deep hit of dark choc, but a mild creamy flavour like, yes, hot chocolate. I did a different icing from the recipe.

  3. How lovely and what thoughtful gestures as chocolate cake will always cheer people up. I too had a bit of a RAK week unexpectedly and like the feeling that it gave me. So I too am going to try and do more RAK in my life. Congratulations on a one week anniversary x

Leave a Reply

