Design your ideal day – What are the things you want to do more and less of?

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin has changed my outlook on life and  made me think about what I need to do to make myself happier. Several of my friends have also read the book and want to apply some of the concepts to their own life.

We decided it might be a good idea to form a regular group to share ideas. The fact that it would be in a pub and there may well be cake involved probably helped to sweeten the deal!

One of the members suggested some homework before our first meeting, so we each came up with a list of five things we would like to do more of in our daily life and five things we would like to do less of.
Here are my lists.

Things I would like to do more of;
·    Creative and Craft Based projects to keep my imagination engaged
·    Entertaining and cooking at Home
·    Travelling, weekends away and day trips
·    Exercise consistently and get into a routine.
·    Buy fresh flowers
Things I would like to do less of;
·    Spend money on unnecessary things (my wants)
·    Watch less tv, particularly reality tv
·    Spend less time with negative people and those that sap my energy
·    Drink less fizzy drinks – I am slightly addicted to Pepsi Max!
·    Nagging

What things would you like to do less of in your daily life? What things would you like to do more of?

One thought on “Design your ideal day – What are the things you want to do more and less of?

  1. Less: I’m giving up fizzy! I’m starting at the beginning of Lent (so Wednesday morning!) I’m going to be giving up diet cola and sprite which are like my go to drinks. Also means I’m giving up Pink Lucozade. So here we go!

    I would like to have more time for craft stuff. I don’t finish work until 5:30, by the time I walk through the door and sort dinner it’s like 7pm (or sooner depending on how motivated I am and how much cleaning I need to do lol). It then feels like by the time I’ve got round to do anything it’s already bed time and there’s no time.

    I’ve just finished THP as well. I’m working on going to bed early (well earlier than I usually do!) it’s not that easy as I seem to be up at like 12:30 listening to cars or ticking over the things I need to do the next day – I’m hoping this is just because I’m trying to go to bed earlier and once I properly get used to it then my head my behave itself a bit better.

Leave a Reply

