The Woman’s Hour Power List – did you know who any of them were?

Tuesday saw the publication of the Top 100 featuring the most influential and powerful women in our country today http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b007qlvb/features/power-list-100
Awesome to see, but it raised as many questions as it answered for me.

Firstly, I am wrong to be slightly disappointed that I didn’t see my own name? In my head, I think these lists are like the National Lottery and one day ‘it could be me’?

On a more serious note, I was surprised at how many of the women I didn’t know. The Queen topped the list (and rightly so, following her awesome appearance at the Olympics) but as I worked my way through the 100, I was struck by how many names I didn’t recognise. As someone who regards herself as a feminist and interested in inspiring women, I wondered how I had missed a great swathe of female achievers?

Is it because men are better at self promotion? Is it because women work tirelessly behind the scenes? Is it because many of these women were heading towards the end of the careers and did not seek external accolades? I also noticed how many of these women were in the fields of science, law and philanthropy, traditionally male dominated areas.

It got me thinking about my own power list and the women who have currently have an impact on my life. Interestingly, I can easily tell if I am going to like someone based on their reaction to the following people;
Mary Berry
Caitlin Moran
Nigella Lawson
Kirstie Allsopp
Gizzi Erskine
Stacie Stewart
Cath Kidston
Emma Bridgewater
Jacqueline Gold
Karren Brady
Claudia Winkelman
Kate Middleton
Mary Portas
Julie Burchill

Who would be on your power list? Who do you think shapes your everyday life?

10 thoughts on “The Woman’s Hour Power List – did you know who any of them were?

  1. My power list:

    The Queen
    Kate (Catherine) Duchess of Cambridge
    Mary Berry
    Cath Kidston
    Emma Bridgewater
    Kirstie Allsopp
    The late, Diana Princess of Wales
    Caitlin Moran
    Beyonce Knowles
    JK Rowling
    Dawn O’Porter
    Sue Perkins
    Cherry Healey
    Jo Wheatley

    and can I put you? xxxxx

  2. Ani DiFranco
    Karen Brady
    Martha Plimpton
    Victoria Wood
    Ameena Matthews
    Julia Davis
    Angelina Jolie
    Inga Musico
    Ellie Baker
    Aung San Suu Kyi
    Sampat Pal Devi
    Rebecca Millar
    My personal heroes. Utter feminists, fighters, changers and righteous! All my favourite things!

  3. Here are mine to add to the pot!
    My mother
    My grandmothers
    My sisters
    A close cousin
    A new friend who is an inspirational mother
    My boss
    Little Red Welly
    A very senior colleague at work
    Elizabeth David
    Mary Berry
    Alison Moyet
    Davina McCall
    Camila Batmanghelidjh
    Shami Chakrabarti
    Mary Seacole
    Maria Montessori
    There are no doubt more and there are plenty of men who inspire me every day too.

Leave a Reply

