Clothing Diet – the progress so far . . .

As you know, I have been on a three month self imposed clothing ban. Surprisingly, I haven’t felt deprived in the slightest and have enjoyed coming up with new combinations of my existing wardrobe. It also made me realise how many clothes I already own.
Despite a significant clear out at the beginning of this process which included a large bag for Charity and a large bag of summer clothes being put into the loft, I still have loads of clothes which haven’t been worn over the last few weeks.

I recently read a tip which said that you should turn all the hangers in your wardrobe the wrong way around. When you wear an item, you reverse the hanger. At the end of the year you can see all the things you haven’t worn and discard them. This may be drastic and I am not sure I can bring myself to do this, but I am coming around to the idea.

Others employ the ‘one in, one out’ concept. Every time they buy a new item of clothing, something has to leave their house to make room for it. Given we all have a finite amount of storage space, this seems like a good way of managing our stuff and could be easily employed for all areas of the home.

The clothing diet has also made me consider the temporary nature of most of our clothing. Last year, I learnt to sew on a fantastic course, run by this lady http://kitchentablesewing.blogspot.co.uk/. Since learning how to sew, I have made a couple of skirts and dresses and it makes you appreciate good quality design and fabrics and how disposable much of today’s clothing is.

Making and customising my own clothing has been so rewarding that I have decided to extend my clothes diet for another three months. I have plenty of clothes unworn and material to adapt and create new items.

Before you all comment on how restrained I am being, I did have a little Primark accident at the weekend. I needed a new pair of shoes for work, but managed to walk out with significantly more than that. I also have two planned exceptions to this project. My birthday is coming up and I have asked my husband for a custom satchel from the Cambridge Satchel Company. I have coveted one for a long time and really thought about justifying the expense. However, as it is British made, good quality, stunning design and will last me a lifetime, I think this fits in with my values and is a conscious spend.

The second item is a black biker jacket. Similarly to the satchel, I have been considering this addition to my wardrobe for several months now. It will last me years and be a good staple addition to my wardrobe. I have some vouchers which were a leaving present from my last job which would pay for it and make it a cost neutral purchase.

What big things are you planning to add to your wardrobe? Do you avoid this season’s must haves and stick to your own classic style?

3 thoughts on “Clothing Diet – the progress so far . . .

  1. Primark is a dangerous place 😉 I always seem to ‘need’ tights and scarves x Luckily / sadly their little dresses tend to be sleeveless so I am managing to resist temptation while its still so cold 🙂 x

  2. I really liked your idea last week of going through your clothes to create new outfits – it sounds more positive than having a clear out, but would surely result in plenty to get rid of, as well as all those new ensembles…

Leave a Reply

