My foray into Burlesque

I believe that when you open yourself up to an idea, the universe provides the opportunity. Indeed, one of my favourite quotes by one of my heroes, Oprah Winfrey, is ‘Luck is preparation meeting opportunity’. Some of you may remember that one of the items on my ’34 things to do in my 34th year’, included Burlesque dancing. When I saw that the very talented ‘Red Sarah’ was offering Burlesque Masterclasses in a local town on my birthday weekend, I knew this was the time to make it happen.

There were a range of burlesque classes on offer that day and I elected to take the Tassel Twirling, as it was most suitable for beginners. When I arrived, the Drag King class was just finishing and a slightly strange sight to see so many beautiful ladies with moustaches and looking manly! Many elected to keep part of their costumes and make up on for our class as well, which added another dynamic!

Sarah was incredibly welcoming and helped to put me at ease. Some of the class were already experienced performers, but Sarah helped to explain what we needed to do in a fantastic way and we soon got into the ‘swing’ of it. We were all shapes and sizes and mastered different elements at our own pace.

Tassel twirling is, unsurprisingly, much harder than it looks and a real cardio work out! I have no idea how the likes of Dita Von Teese make it look so effortless. Most of my efforts to look alluring were ruined by the look of concentration etched into my face as I tried to master the seven (!) different directions for twirling. Towards the end of the class, I was really enjoying it.
All in all, I found it a really positive experience and well worth having a go. I am not sure I will take it further but am glad I did it, and crossed another thing off my list.

However, jiggling in front of the mirror under strip lighting doesn’t always help a girls body image! Here is a sneeky peek for you of the equipment!

20130510-135016.jpg

One thought on “My foray into Burlesque

Leave a Reply

