Weekend Baking, English Muffins

One of my aims for this summer is to spend more time indulging in my passion for baking. I love the domesticity of spending time in the kitchen, almost as much as I enjoy eating the results!
I am usually drawn to sweet recipes, as cakes are one of my largest indulgences. However, Mr W doesn’t really have a sweet tooth and much prefers savoury items. So, for a Sunday morning treat I decided to try making English Muffins to eat with a lovely cooked breakfast.

The recipe is a little different to other recipes I have tried, with the inclusion of vinegar and the need to cook the polenta before adding the other ingredients. They take a little time, but the results are well worth it!

I was quite pleased with the results, although next time I would roll them out a bit thicker to give a more impressive muffin! The batch made enough for me to drop off some to friends to share the baking love (and minimise the effects on our waistlines).

What are you baking this weekend? Do you prefer sweet or savoury?

muffins

75gms Dry Polenta
425 ml Boiling Water
100 ml Yoghurt
25 ml Sunflower Oil
50ml Vinegar
2tsp Salt
1 Yeast
500gms Strong White Flour

Add Polenta and Water and leave for 45 minutes
Mix the Yoghurt, Oil, Vinegar , Salt and Yeast together and add to the Polenta mix. Then add the flour and leave for 10 minutes.

Knead for ten seconds, and then leave for ten minute intervals. Repeat twice more.
Leave for 90 minutes to rise.

Roll out the mixture to 2 cm thick and then cut into 10cm discs.
Leave to rise for 10 minutes.
Cook on a medium heat in a pan for 4 minutes each side.
Bake for 8-10 minutes at 180c
Eat and Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Weekend Baking, English Muffins

  1. Well! I love English muffins, but was NOT expecting polenta in the recipe. I am intrigued… they look fab and sound lovely, I will definitely try. My recent discovery is ricotta hotcakes – Bill Granger recipe (I think there’s a Nigella one too) served with honeycomb butter and some fruit. There was an overwhelmed silence round the table, followed by requests to put them into frequent rotation. The honeycomb butter is so divine, I’m trying to think of other uses for it.

  2. Morning!
    I’ve just nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award. : ) I just couldn’t resist mentioning the swirly you know whats….
    Have a great weekend, let’s hope it doesn’t rain today.

Leave a Reply

