Lino Printing and other crafty endeavours

Last night I tried my hand at a new craft, Lino Printing. A local artist Scarlett Tierney, was holding an introductory workshop, which by luck, was held at my favourite cake shop, Fancy.

fancy

The whole evening was lovely, with a well run and thought out workshop run by Scarlett. It was nice to connect with some crafty people from Bedford that I didn’t already know. It was also the first workshop I have been to with men, which added a different dynamic.

We were each encouraged to draw a design of our choosing. I am not naturally artistic (as you can see from some of the photos!) and so found this element rather challenging. I decided on a cupcake design which reflects my love of all things baked!

fancy 2

Once we were happy with our drawings, we traced the image onto tracing paper and then transferred them to the lino tile.

fancy 6

Using a special tool, we carved away at the lino to create a stamp. We then applied liberal amounts of paint and used the stamp to create our own badges. I was really pleased with how they came out and will definitely be keeping one myself (and giving the other away as a random act of kindness).

fancy 7

The whole evening was relaxing and good to try out some new creative processes and meet some lovely people.

Please check out the talented Scarlett’s website here http://scarlettrebecca.co.uk/

What craft have you always fancied trying?

One thought on “Lino Printing and other crafty endeavours

Leave a Reply

