Jammie Dodger Cupcakes, the latest bake

I am slowly working my way through the new Hummingbird Baking Cookbook. After the massive success that were the Jaffa Cake Cupcakes, I was keen to try another biscuit inspired bake.

We had friends coming to stay for the weekend so I took the opportunity to try out the Jammie Dodger recipe. It was a beautiful sunny weekend, so the combination of sweet icing and jam evoked the feeling of a summery afternoon tea of scones and other good things.

The recipe tells you how to make your own mini ‘jammie dodgers’ to top the cakes. However, I must confess to a short cut here as I bought mine from the supermarket. It cut down the time needed for these cakes and meant I could complete them with little fuss.

The cupcake includes a sponge, jam middle and vanilla icing topped with a Jammie Dodger to provide some crunch. They turned out really well and looked impressive.

However, I often find with Hummingbird recipes that they make too much icing and therefore the cupcakes can be a little bit sickly. So next time, I will use less icing in an attempt to curb the sugariness of them. Apart from that, I was really pleased with them and will definitely make them again.

What did you bake this weekend?

jammy 1

jammy 2

2 thoughts on “Jammie Dodger Cupcakes, the latest bake

  1. Yum yum! I find the same re too much icing in hummingbird recipes. You can always freeze it if you forget to make less. Cream cheese frosting and buttercream both freeze really well x

  2. Oh they look lovely! I do find some Hummingbird recipes are a bit unreliable, you have to use your judgment. But the results are usually delicious. I just made the coffee chocolate cake from their 2nd (I think) book. It was delicious – but the size of caketin they recommended was completely wrong, out by a mile…

Leave a Reply

