A week of extremes

This week I attended two events at opposite the ends of the emotional spectrum. One was the wedding of my sister and the second the funeral of my first love.
Both days reminded me of the things that are important in life, that of friends and family, celebrating the good times and the need for support during the bad times. Weddings fill you with the optimism of the future and joy of true love. Weddings represent the beginning of a new chapter and the feeling of infinite time and possibilities.
Funerals, and particularly this funeral, served to remind me of the brevity of life and how the decisions you make, even the insignificant ones, shape your being and future. Your whole life is distilled into a few short paragraphs of biography. I hope that my funeral, like this one did, is able to convey my personality in a way that those around me can recognise.
Funerals raise a lot of questions about things you could have said or done differently, or how your actions impact on others. They serve to prompt questions about how short and precious life can be. They heighten the realisation that you have responsibility and control over how you live you daily life but there are often forces outside of your control that ultimately dictate the bigger moments in your life.
When I started my project to live more consciously, I wasn’t entirely sure about what that meant or how it may manifest itself. Now I am eighteen months in, these events have made me realised that I have achieved some steps to designing the life that I want and am proud of, but there is still further work to do.
I wonder what I would like my obituary to say? What do I need to achieve it?

4 thoughts on “A week of extremes

  1. Elizabeth Wright – inspirational to all who met her. A woman who never took herself too seriously, but took the business of squeezing the most she could out of life very seriously! Liz was courageous, never letting the fear of failure stop her. She could see possibilities wherever she looked and because of this created new chances and opportunities not just for herself but others. Liz was incredibly bright, not just intellectually but in the way she shined. She could lighten the darkest of times showing a way towards hope, however despairing that moment might be. Liz’s enthusiasm and passion to try new experiences was renowned; her ability to live mindfully, intentionally and happily was and still is awe inspiring. Ultimately the greatest of friends and one of the best drunks there was! A life very well lived.

    • I would be delighted by this summary of my life! And it serves to remind us that we should tell people who we feel and what they mean to us whilst they are still around (I sense a Random Act of Truthfulness/Reflection programme being born!)

  2. Liz – kind, caring and friendly. Looked after those around her. Made all feel welcome.

    I always joked that I wanted “I told you I was sick” on my gravestone if I ever had one a la Spike Milligan but I go more towards cremation now. I think I’d like to be sprinkled in the Lake District where my Grandma is sprinkled so we can hang out some more.

Leave a Reply

